The LocalBitcoins Blog

Tales from the world of Bitcoin & Cryptocurrency

Additional verification is now available to residents of Pakistan and Iraq i.a.

by J

New and existing users residing in the countries listed below are now able to activate their accounts by filling up the additional verification form through the Verification tab in their account’s settings. These users can activate their accounts and use LocalBitcoins normally once their additional verification form is completed and approved by LocalBitcoins. The list of countries subject to additional verification is determined by the relevant authorities in LocalBitcoins’ jurisdiction and might be updated from time to time (last edit on 05.10.2020):

  • Afghanistan
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Botswana
  • Cambodia
  • Ghana
  • Iraq
  • Jamaica
  • Mauritius
  • Mongolia
  • Myanmar
  • Nicaragua
  • Pakistan
  • Panama
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Uganda
  • Vanuatu
  • Yemen
  • Zimbabwe

Why is verification necessary?

In order to comply with the applicable legal requirements and to meet anti-money laundering and terrorism funding prevention regulations’ criteria, LocalBitcoins requires verification to know who its users are and prevent the usage of the platform for illicit purposes. By enabling verification in the countries listed above, LocalBitcoins reaffirms its commitment to bring Bitcoin to everyone and to every place that has a need for it.